Georgian Audio-DVD Digital Online Catalog

Katie Melua - Piece by piece


Georgia-born (as in the country) singer/songwriter Katie Melua found herself atop the British chart in 2003 with her breezy debut Call Off the Search. It sold over three million copies in Europe alone. Her laid-back blend of blues, jazz, and pop with a kiss of worldbeat drew comparisons to Norah Jones, and rightfully so. She sticks to the formula on her lush, ultimately safe follow-up, Piece by Piece. This is Coldplay for the Diana Krall crowd, a perfectly rendered slice of adult contemporary pie for a lazy summer day delivered by an artist whose beautiful voice is almost striking in how unremarkable it is. Her longtime collaborator, producer/songwriter Mike Batt, provides the catchiest number, an odd and endearing little confection called "Nine Million Bicycles." It's both silly and sweet, two things that work in Melua's favor. Sure, she can vamp it up with the best of them on bluesy asides like "Shy Boy" and the dreadful "Blues in the Night," but there's a whole lot of innocence in that voice that just shrivels in the midst of all that bravado. Only in her early twenties, Melua's got plenty of time to decide on a persona, and Piece by Piece has enough quality material on it to placate fans until she does, but there's some tension here, and it doesn't sound intentional. Besides, anyone who covers Canned Heat and the Cure on the same record is still trying to figure it all out.


1. "Shy Boy" (Mike Batt) - 3:22
2. "Nine Million Bicycles" (Batt) - 3:15
3. "Piece By Piece" (Katie Melua) - 3:24
4. "Half Way Up The Hindu Kush" (Melua/Batt) - 3:06
5. "Blues In The Night" (Harold Arlen/Johnny Mercer) - 4:12
6. "Spider's Web" (Melua) - 3:58
7. "Blue Shoes" (Batt) - 4:39
8. "On The Road Again" (Floyd Jones/Alan Wilson) - 4:38
9. "Thank you, Stars" (Batt) - 3:39
10. "Just Like Heaven" (Robert Smith/Porl Thompson/Simon Gallup/Laurence Tolhurst/Boris Williams) - 3:35
11. "I Cried for You" (Melua) - 3:38
12. "I Do Believe In Love" (Melua) - 3:00

Add to Cart:

  • Model: DVD
  • Artist: Qeti Melua
  • Music Genre: Blues

This product was added to our catalog on Tuesday 09 September, 2008.

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2020 Georgian Audio DVD Online Catalog. Powered by Ramaz Geguchadze