Georgian Audio-DVD Digital Online Catalog

Gia Kancheli - Best Album


Giya Kancheli (გია ყანჩელი), born August 10, 1935 in Tbilisi, is a Georgian composer resident in Belgium.

Kancheli is his country's most famous living composer and arguably its best-known cultural export. His music is very communicative and immediate and often has a spiritual quality, which leads some to compare him (not always helpfully) to composers such as Arvo Pärt and John Tavener. There are several instances of folk and religious inspiration in his music, notably in the opening to the Third Symphony or his more recent work Magnum Ignotum, but the effect of Georgian folk elements on his style is in spirit rather than substance, should not be overemphasised.

In his symphonies, his musical language typically consists of slow, haunting scraps of minor-mode melody against long, subdued, anguished string discords. These passages are occasionally punctuated with 'battle scenes' involving martial brass and percussion. His music post-1990 has become more refined and generally more subdued and nostalgic in character. Some commentators talk about his music in cinematic terms; one can find equivalents of dissolve (in his ubiquitous blurred tonal transitions), zoom (such as the long crescendo a third of the way into the Sixth Symphony), abrupt cuts (jumping from very quiet to very loud, as in the opening of the Fifth Symphony), and so on. Rodion Shchedrin speaks of Kancheli as "an ascetic with the temperament of a maximalist; a restrained Vesuvius".


Kancheli has written seven symphonies, and what he terms a liturgy for viola and orchestra, called Mourned by the Wind. His Fourth Symphony received its American premiere, with the Philadelphia Orchestra, under Yuri Temirkanov, in January 1978, not long before the cultural freeze in the United States against Soviet culture. Glasnost allowed Kancheli to regain exposure, and he began to receive frequent commissions, as well as performances within Europe and America. His Sixth Symphony is considered by many to be his most notable work to date. His Seventh Symphony was emphatically subtitled 'Epilogue' and he is unlikely to write any more named symphonies, but he has described his orchestral work "Trauerfarbenes Land" ('The Land Stained with Mourning') as "almost an Eighth Symphony".

Championed internationally by the likes of Dennis Russell Davies, the late Jansug Kakhidze, Gidon Kremer, Yuri Bashmet, Kim Kashkashian, Mstislav Rostropovich, and the Kronos Quartet, Kancheli has seen world premieres of his works in Seattle, as well as with the New York Philharmonic under Kurt Masur. He continues to receive regular commissions. New CDs of his recent works are regularly released, notably on the ECM label.

In Georgia, Kancheli's work is well-known in the theatre, from which he draws much of his musical composition. For two decades, he served as the music director of the Rustaveli Theatre in Tbilisi. His opera Music for the Living, written in collaboration with Rustaveli director Robert Sturua, has been praised within Europe and the former Soviet Union since its premiere in June 1984, and in December 1999, the opera was restaged for the Deutsches National Theater in Weimar. He has written music for dozens of films, many of them well-known in the Russian-speaking world but virtually unknown outside it, such as Georgi Daneliya's sci-fi cult hit Kin-dza-dza!.

Since 1991, Kancheli has lived in Western Europe: first in Berlin, and since 1995 in Antwerp, where he is composer-in-residence for the Royal Flemish Philharmonic Orchestra.

Early Works
    * Concerto for orchestra (1961)
    * Symphony No. 1 (1967)
    * Symphony No. 2: Songs (1970)
    * Symphony No. 3 (1973)
    * Symphony No. 4 "To the Memory of Michelangelo" (1974)
    * Symphony No. 5 "To the Memory of My Parents" (1977)
    * Symphony No. 6 (1978-1980)
    * Symphony No. 7 "Epilogue" (1986)
    * Mourned by the Wind (Vom Winde Beweint), liturgy for viola and orchestra (1989)
    * Rokwa (1999)
    * Styx (1999)
Chamber Music
    * Morning Prayers for chamber orchestra and tape (1990)
    * Midday Prayers for soprano, clarinet and chamber orchestra (1990)
    * Night Prayers for string quartet (1992)
    * Caris Mere for soprano and viola (1994)
    * Valse Boston for piano and strings (1996)
    * Instead of a Tango for violin, bandoneon, piano and double bass (1996)
    * In L'Istesso Tempo for piano quartet (1997)
    * Sio for strings, piano and percussion (1998)
    * Music for the living, opera in two acts (1982-1984)
    * Bright Sorrow Requiem (to the 40th Anniversary of the Victory over Fascism) (1984)
    * Evening Prayers for eight alto voices and chamber orchestra (1991)
    * Psalm 23 for soprano and chamber orchestra (1993)
    * Lament, concerto for violin, soprano and orchestra (1994)
    * Diplipito for cello, counter-tenor and chamber orchestra (1997)
    * And Farewell Goes Out Sighing... for violin, countertenor and orchestra (1999)
    * Styx for viola, mixed choir and orchestra (1999)

 Gia Kancheli / გია ყანჩელი
Альбом: Best Album
Жанр: Классическая музыка
Формат: CD
Язык: Грузинский
Качество: 192-320 Kb/s
Композиций: 24


1. Prologi / პროლოგი
2. Sad midixar / სად მიდიხარ
3. Kviteli fotlebi / ყვითელი ფოვლები
4. Zgvis simgera / ზღვის სიმღერა
5. Mogoneba / მოგონება
6. L anour et la
7. Interludia / ინტერლუდია
8. Chemi qalaqi / ჩემი ქალაქი
9. Sevda / სევდა
10. Ar daidardo / არ დაიდარდო
11. Ikidet, ikidet / იყიდეთ, იყიდეთ
12. Da gazafxuli xo mainc mova / და გაზაფხული მაინც მოვა
13. Grushes tema / გრუშეს თემა
14. Tetri qvebi / თეთრი ქვები
15. Reg-taimi / რეგ?ტაიმი
16. Interludia / ინტერლუდია
17. King Lear, My Lord
18. Richardis tema / რიჩარდის თემა
19. Is aq aris / ის აქ არის
20. Dialodi / დიალოგი
21. Qari qris / ქარმ ქრის
22. Samshoblo / სამშობლო
23. Dipipito / დიპლიპიტო
24. Vals Boston / ვალს ბოსტონი

Add to Cart:

  • Model: Audio CD
  • Artist: Gia Kancheli
  • Music Genre: Classical

This product was added to our catalog on Thursday 17 January, 2013.

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2022 Georgian Audio DVD Online Catalog. Powered by Ramaz Geguchadze